Coverage
Claims
Payments

Frequently Asked Questions

Coverage

Required State Coverage
What insurance coverage is required by my state?

Each state has a minimum amount of insurance coverage that you are required to carry by law. This is often referred to as your minimum financial responsibility (minimum limits).

Alabama
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
Arizona
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $15,000
Florida
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $10,000
  • Personal Injury Protection: $10,000
Georgia
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
Indiana
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
Missouri
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Nebraska
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
South Carolina
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $25,000 per person, $50,000 per accident
Texas
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $30,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $60,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $25,000
Virginia
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per person: $30,000
  • Bodily Injury Liability Coverage per accident: $60,000
  • Property Damage Liability Coverage: $20,000
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage: $30,000 per person, $60,000 per accident

Claims

What Coverages Do
Now that I know what coverage is available to me, can you help me understand what that means?

Yes, here is a list of mandatory and optional coverages and what they provide:

  • Bodily Injury Liability (BI) : Provides coverage in the event that you cause an accident, and another person is injured.
  • Property Damage Liability (PD) : Provides coverage if you are at fault in an accident and cause damage to someone else's property. Usually it's someone else's car, but it could be a building, guardrail, garage door, or other physical property. This does not cover damage to your own car.
  • Medical Payments and/or Personal Injury Protection (MP or PIP) : Sometimes referred to as “no -fault” coverage. Provides primary coverage for medical expenses to a covered person and their passengers if they are involved in a motor vehicle accident. This coverage applies regardless of fault. Additionally, PIP may cover lost wages and other expenses. This does cover medical expenses for both injured policy holders and passengers, even if some don’t have health insurance.
  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage (UM) : Covers medical and other expenses when a covered person is involved in an accident with someone without insurance or not enough insurance to cover the damages. A hit-and-run may also qualify for this coverage. You may be covered for injuries sustained (Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury, UMBI) and property damage to your vehicle (Uninsured Motorist Property Damage, UMPD).
  • Collision (COLL) : Provides coverage for damage to your car if you collide with another object, such as another car, a building, wall, guardrail, pole, or a fire hydrant. It is not required by law, but your bank may require it if you have an auto loan.
  • Comprehensive (COMP) : Protects the covered vehicle on your policy if it is stolen or suffers damage that is not the result of a collision. Examples include damage caused by fire, theft, vandalism, explosions, earthquakes, windstorms, hail, water, and flooding, as well as accidents involving falling objects, and damage caused by animals and wildlife. Comprehensive coverage is optional, but your bank may require it if you have an auto loan.
  • Rental (Loss of Use) : A coverage option that provides reimbursement for reasonable replacement transportation fees and/or for rental car charges that you incur when your insured car is out of commission due to an accident or loss.
  • Towing and Labor (Roadside Assistance) : A coverage option that covers towing and labor charges when an insured car is disabled. This includes the costs associated with emergency flat tire change, tire repair, battery jump, battery repair, fuel delivery (but not the fuel) and locksmith.
  • Accidental Death and Dismemberment : A coverage option that provides a set payment to the insured for accidental death or dismemberment of the named insured’s body. The events covered include loss of limbs and bodily functions such as vision, hearing, and speech. This coverage applies only to the named insured on the policy.
Minimum Limits
In general, what am I getting when I buy minimum limits auto insurance with AssuranceAmerica?

State coverage requirements vary, but when you buy a minimum limits policy with AssuranceAmerica, you are buying the state's legal minimum insurance requirement. Typically, states require a minimum amount of coverage for bodily injury or property damage caused by you in an accident. However, they would not require the same coverage for protection of your own vehicle. Your agent can discuss additional coverage options with you.

Full Coverage
What is full coverage?

The term "full coverage" doesn't have a universally agreed-upon definition, which leads to a great deal of confusion. Full coverage is described by some as simply having state mandated coverages while others describe it as having those mandated coverages plus comprehensive and collision coverage. Others argue that full coverage is having every type of insurance, mandatory and optional. As a result of the confusion it causes, the term full coverage should be avoided. Consult a licensed agent to discuss what coverages are right for you.

Reporting a Claim
How do I report a claim to AssuranceAmerica?

Call 1-888-580-8134 to file a claim 24 hours a day 7 days a week. Report your claim as soon as possible after the accident. When you call, please have the following information available:

  • Your policy number
  • Date of accident/incident
  • Location of accident/incident
  • Vehicle information
  • People involved
Total Losses
I think my car is a total loss. What happens next?
  1. If you haven’t done so already, call us at 1-888-580-8134 to report your claim. The adjuster will also talk to you about whether you have the coverage you need to handle your damages. A damage estimate is required to verify if your car is a total loss, but if you think the car is totaled, it is also a good idea to remove your personal belongings and license plates. Your assigned adjuster will explain more about this process.
  2. If we find your car to be a total loss, you may need to sign a form to release the car from the tow yard. If you’re not sure who towed your car, this information is typically found on the police report. Since many tow yards charge daily storage fees, you'll want to do this as soon as possible.
  3. Once your car is picked up from the tow yard, you will need to sign some paperwork, so we can process the title. You will be contacted by one of our partner companies that helps us in this process, and they will send you the necessary documents. It is important that you follow their directions precisely as any errors will result in you having to redo the paperwork. For us to pay you or your lienholder (bank), these forms must be completed and returned promptly.

When you purchase rental coverage, the amount of coverage is limited. We want to ensure that you do not run out of coverage while your vehicle is being repaired. That is why if you can drive your vehicle, we recommend you bring it in on a Monday so the body shop can order the necessary parts before your appointment. Having the parts on hand for your appointment allows the repair shop to begin the work immediately and complete it in a timely manner.

What to do in an Accident
What should I do if I’m involved in an accident?
  1. Do not admit fault.
  2. Call the police. Be sure to note the responding law enforcement agency.
  3. If safe to do so, take photos at the scene of the damage and vehicle positions.
  4. If possible, get pictures of insurance cards and driver’s licenses.
  5. Attempt to get names of everyone involved, including passengers and get phone numbers and contact information.
  6. If any of the vehicles are being towed, get the tow yard’s contact information.
  7. Call us to report the accident at 1-888-580-8134.
Picking Up Rentals
Why am I being told to drop my vehicle off at the shop and pick up my rental on a Monday?

If your vehicle is drivable and the accident occurs later in the week, we encourage you to schedule the drop off your vehicle on a Monday to give the body shop time to order necessary parts. This way, when you drop your car off, they can begin repairs right away. If you decide to buy rental coverage, the amount of coverage available is limited. This is one of the best ways to try and ensure that you do not run out of rental coverage while your vehicle is being repaired.

Receiving Payment
What are the various ways I can receive payment for my claim?

Payment options include check, virtual debit card, and ACH direct deposit. We do not use mobile payment services such as CashApp, Venmo, PayPal, or Zelle. Discuss your payment options with your claims adjuster.

Coverage Issues
What are some common things that could result in my not getting the coverage I’m expecting from my policy?

It is very important that you answer all questions on your insurance policy application honestly, accurately, and completely. Here are some guidelines for avoiding common problems resulting in a lack of coverage:

  • Be sure to list all drivers of the vehicles you have insured on your policy.
  • List all the owners of the vehicle(s) you are insuring.
  • Avoid loaning your vehicle to anyone who is not listed on your policy, because coverage for non-listed drivers differs from policy to policy. Contact your agent if you need to add a driver.
  • Your personal auto policy typically will not cover you if you are using your vehicle for business, so let us know if you use your vehicle for business, including part-time work.

The following may be considered business use and results in no coverage for your accident:

  • Using your vehicle for ride sharing platforms such as Uber and Lyft.
  • Using your vehicle for car-sharing programs like Turo, Urbi, Zipcar, etc.
  • Using your vehicle to deliver food, newspapers, or other services, such as Uber Eats, Postmates, Amazon, USPS, etc.

The above information is for informational purposes and designed to help you better understand general insurance requirements and AssuranceAmerica's products and services. This should not be considered a binding insurance contract. Please consult a licensed insurance agent about insurance requirements in your state and products and services offered by AssuranceAmerica that may fit your needs. Insurance is underwritten by AssuranceAmerica Insurance Company and InsureMax Insurance Company (collectively “AssuranceAmerica”). Eligibility requirements, terms, exclusions, limits, and restrictions may apply.

Payments

Due Dates
Can I change my due date?

We are unable to change due dates. The only exception is if a policy is on a 23 day pay plan where the first bill is due within 23 days, we can update the pay plan to a 30-day plan if you pay a higher down payment percentage.

Why did my due date automatically change?

There are a few reasons why a due date can change:

  • When a recurring pay plan is removed within 30 days of issuing the policy, the policy will revert to a 23-day pay plan, changing the due date.
  • The due date on a renewal policy is usually 30 days from the renewal date, which may differ from the initial policy term. In the case of a 23-day pay plan on the initial term, the first payment is due 23 days from the date of policy inception, and all future installment payments are due on that date each month. Upon renewal, the first installment is due 30 days after the renewal effective date and future installments are due on that date every month.
  • There are some 12-month policies (typically the 6% down payment option) that have a payment due every 28 days, which can fall on different days of the month.
Payment Amount Changes
Why is the payment higher now than in previous months, when I originally received a discount for recurring draft?

Your payment would be higher because your automatic payments were declined. A recurring payment is automatically stopped after two automatic credit card draft declinations, two returned NSF payments or if the payment is returned for invalid account information.

If this occurs, the updated balance due (including any discount for the month that has been lost) must be paid to set up recurring payments again.

Making Payments
How do I make a payment?
  1. You can pay right on your phone!
    • Download our app for the easiest way to pay. Be sure to click “receive billing notifications” when you register your account.
  2. Or you can Online at www.assuranceamerica.com
    • Click Pay Your Bill.
    • Login or follow the instructions to register a new account.
    • Select the Payment Option, then choose Check or Credit Card.
    • Fill out the required fields and click Submit to process your payment.
  3. Automated Info Line
    • Call 800-450-7857 and press option 2 to make a Payment.
    • Enter only the digits of your policy number prior to the dash. (Example Policy PGA5554567-1, enter only 5554567) Have your policy number, credit card or checking account information available.
    • Authorize your payment and hold while your payment is processed, and payment reference number is provided.